Reviews

8.2
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.4
Comfort
8.3
Property location
8.5
Facilities
8.2
Staff
8.3
Value
7.7

Reviews

    Bruce
    ca

    Review score

    6.7
    22 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    ie

    Review score

    7.9
    20 September 2018

    Decent Hotel. Good location. Very clean. Monte Gordo would suit someone looking for a quite holiday.

    Gym costs an additional €5 per day. This really couldn’t be included in the cost of the stay. You pay enough to stay there and I wouldn’t expect to pay extra for this facility. The hotel lists an iron in the itenery however there was none in our room. When we asked reception for an iron we were told there was only one for the whole hotel and someone had it ok loan. When we asked if we could get it for an hour or so as we were going to a wedding that evening the guy at reception laughed and said that would not be possible. Didn’t think it was good enough to only have one iron for the whole place. There should be more irons if not one for every room. Safe hire is an additional €15 for a weeks stay. Again I thought this was unnecessary to charge for this.
    Location of the hotel was excellent. 2-3 walk to some good restaurants and a mini market. We stayed in a junior suit which was nice but interior was a little dated. It was very basic and not really what I would expect from a 4 star hotel but staying that it was not bad. It was quite spacious. There was a separate bedroom, bathroom and living area. The living area has a mini fridge which is a great touch and really necessary if you are staying there more than a couple of days. Breakfast was fairly good. It’s served between 7-10am. Loads of choice of fried foods, cold meats, fruits, yogurt, breads and sweet treats. Some of the foods wouldn’t be to my own personal taste but plenty choice so there is somthing for everyone. The staff fill up the food throughout the 3 hour breakfast window so no matter what time you choose to have breakfast there is always plenty of choice. The hotel has some good facilities. Spa, swimming pool and gym. You do have to pay extra though for the spa and gym. There is music on in the hotel a few nights a week. The guy that plays on Tuesday night is excellent. He should pay more nights. The best part of the hotel is the cleaning staff. They do an excellent job. Cleaned the room very well and always left fresh towels everyday.
    P. Pearson
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    18 September 2018

    Short stay in Monte Gordo

    I didn't like the cave like corridors. I didn't like the fact that I could not get a towel for the pool because I had no cash to pay the deposit, only credit cards and they would not charge it to the room. Would have liked tea/coffee making facitiy in the room.
    The spa and treatments were very good. The hotel was very quiet and relaxing.
    gb

    Review score

    10
    14 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Manuela
    pt

    Review score

    8.8
    13 September 2018

    Holiday with family

    n.a.
    I liked the hotel very much the facilities were good and restaurant food was great.
    Aoife
    ie

    Review score

    9.6
    11 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Hugo
    pt

    Review score

    7.1
    31 August 2018
    Not really a property issue, but the problem with parking around the hotel is annoying.
    Outside facilities are great
    Jose
    pt

    Review score

    8.8
    27 August 2018

    Will very likely return to this hotel if we choose again Monte Gordo for a summer break.

    Th hotel is nice, but August in Monte Gordo is overcrowded, the ongoing constructions messy, and the quality /service of the restaurants is not that good. The beach is quite nice and we can take long walks along this wonderful sandy beach.
    It is a bit over-crowded in August but the staff are very kind and try to meet all the requests. Breakfast is good but not really exceptional (quality of the coffee could easily be improved and, as Algarve is known for the quality of its oranges, fresh orange juice would make a difference. The hotel is nice and the original architecture/design still has its charm.
    Victor
    ch

    Review score

    7.5
    27 August 2018

    Correct.

    Ed_Teix
    ch

    Review score

    7.1
    20 August 2018

    Solid three star hotel (not a four star hotel as people think) - Keep expectations into perspective!

    What could have been better: first of all this is not a four stars Hotel, this is a four star hotel according to Portuguese Hotel guidelines (which unfortunately seem to be below standard). The room was a Double room and there were two beds side by side which is NOT the definition of a double room. Breakfast was not re-stocked until the end meaning that 30 minutes before end of breakfast hour there was already a very limited choice of bread, fruits and so on (water was non existent). In the bedroom there was no cotton pads, no mini bar, no iron, no hear cotton swabs. The parking was 15 EUR per day - outside one could get it for 10 EUR a day (a four star Hotel should do the utmost to please the customer, charging extra for a parking which is even more expensive than outside is not the way to go).
    Staff was friendly and willing to help (even within the August confusion of Algarve). Breakfast was relatively good with different things to chose from (although no natural orange juice which is strange in Algarve where they have the best oranges!). The hotel also has a great perspective over the ocean (although one must book 5th floor or above). Nice pool outside (although not very deep, only 1,50m) and nice space to relax on the rest of the territory.
    SandraFerreira
    pt

    Review score

    7.5
    10 August 2018
    Vista, local e simpatia.
    António Calhorda
    pt

    Review score

    6.2
    9 August 2018
    No carpets in the room. The breakfast. The swimming pool. It sshould be organized in order to allow old people and babies to enjoy it withou the risk to be hit by a ball or a teen ager jumping crazily to water.
    The decoration of the common places
    Magda
    de

    Review score

    8.8
    13 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    DOMINGO
    es

    Review score

    6.7
    2 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Josh
    gb

    Review score

    10
    30 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Augusto
    pt

    Review score

    10
    28 June 2018

    very well position to walk to the beach

    friendly staff a nice bar the food nice cold and hot buffet and the the breakfast very good selection of fruits .etc.
    Robert
    gb

    Review score

    5.8
    24 June 2018

    ok

    All included above
    I have nothing of any great consequence to complain about. For the price the hotel was perfectly adequate but somehow staff were invisible and did little to engage their clients. There was a good selection at breakfast. Most of the cold food was of good quality. The cooked breakfast was typical of this type of hotel. Cold congealed eggs, poor quality sausages and bacon etc, they could have made more use of the cook station to serve freshly cooked eggs etc. As it is, only one dish per day was served from the station. If it was a pancake day you got pancakes. If it was an omelette day you got omelettes. Why can't there be a complete choice each day? Perhaps the cook station needs to be larger. The room was large, airy and clean and the bed comfortable. The runners on the bottom of the wardrobe were broken and the doors very stiff to open. My wife hurt her shoulder on the first day trying to open them and from then on it was my job.The bathroom was clean enough but some of the tile grout was discoloured and could have used a thorough bleaching. Some tile grout was missing and some tiles cracked. The handbasin was crazed. The knob to start the shower came off in my wife's hands at day one. I left it off on the side of the bath but there it stayed. No one did anything about it. My wife prefers a bath and so it didn't bother her and I managed to operate the shower without the knob. I don't believe my wife could ever have managed it. I suspect it will be left the same for the next guests. One day staff forgot to replenish the bath gel etc. The hotel was well located a relatively short, flat walk to the beach and town. The pool and surroundings were very good. I found Monty Gordo quite a pleasant up-and-coming resort. Overall our stay was very pleasant but this hotel did nothing to make me want to come back when there are many other similar at hotels in the area. I would go back to Monte Gordo but I would try one of the other hotels next time.
    terrence
    gi

    Review score

    9.6
    16 June 2018

    Would stay here again

    Evening entertainment
    Room was perfect and on top floor with a stunning view
    Pedro
    pt

    Review score

    7.1
    7 June 2018
    Breakfast could be better
    Clean room, nice staff, good location
    Pedro Soares
    ch

    Review score

    9.6
    5 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews